Skip To Main Content

Patterson-Strauss Travel Grant

The Patterson-Strauss Travel Grant honors long-time faculty members Bob Patterson and Tony Strauss. They each had many interests and passions, but prominent among these passions was their love of teaching and teachers, and of course, students. Their legacy is to refresh and renew Country Day faculty through the travel grants, to expand and reignite curiosity and allow faculty to bring new perspectives and ideas into their classrooms.

Senior faculty are encouraged to give free reign to their imaginations and to those deeply felt and enduring intellectual concerns that, because of too little time and funding, have been left unattended and unexplored. The intent of the grant is that teachers will return to campus inspired with new energy, new ideas, and new experiences.


The goal of the Patterson-Strauss Grant is to fund a summer sabbatical program for senior faculty. Teachers will be responsible for bringing back to Country Day findings of their summer experiences in any variety of formats: a new or expanded elective, an assembly presentation, an article in Connections, or some other presentation.


Each year the Patterson-Strauss Grant is funded from the faculty leave pool and any interest earned from monies raised from the Patterson Memorial Fund.


Full-time teaching faculty who have completed 15 years of service at Country Day are eligible to apply for the grant.


Eligible full-time teachers will write a brief proposal. A committee of faculty members will select two individual proposals for approval by the Head of School. The committee’s primary criteria will be length of service and commitment to the school. Each applicant will be fully funded by a grant not exceeding $6,000, including transportation, meals, and living accommodations for immediate family members. Those receiving the grant will be informed in January of each year by the head of school. Members of the selection committee will be ineligible to apply. Prior grant recipients will replace current members of the selection committee, serving on the committee following their summer away.

For more information on the Patterson-Strauss Travel Grant, please contact Jenn Weinheimer at (513) 979-0319 or