Pattison Award

Lee S. Pattison portrait

Lee S. Pattison

In December 2007, Cincinnati Country Day School lost one of its most legendary teachers, Lee S. Pattison, who graced our campus from 1946 to 1988. We celebrate his legacy in many ways, including the Lee S. Pattison Distinguished Teacher Award, given to one or two outstanding faculty members each year. Nearly every student who attended CCDS during his tenure has a “Mr. Pat” story — a tale of kindness or counsel, of laughter or leadership.

The Award

First granted in 1989, the Lee S. Pattison Distinguished Teacher Award seeks to celebrate teachers who best embody all that Lee Pattison gave, day in and day out: loyalty, creativity, humor, flexibility, and integrity.

Teachers nominate their peers by reflecting in writing how their nominees demonstrate each of the qualifying characteristics. A committee of administrators and alumni reviews the nominations and determines the winners. The winners are announced at the final faculty meeting of the year in early June. Winners receive a $10,000 stipend spread over three years, and an additional $1,000 to spend for the benefit for the school.

Nominate a faculty member for the award.

Award Winners

Teacher award winners
2018Jamie Back and Tresonne Peters
2017Michelle Newman and Stephanie Wietmarschen
2016Dr. Jeremiah McCall and Nate Johnston
2015Brady Brandt and Ann Gardner
2014Kathleen Renner and Laura Rue
2013Rachel Corwin and Chuck McGivern
2012Eldrich Carr and Steve Conner
2011Jan French and Paula Butler
2010Jeanette Hecker and Molly Murray Petre
2009Elvira Carrillo and Peter Fossett '80
2008Casey Schnieber and Kathy Winter
2007Marge Rockwell and Howard Brownstein
2006Pat Dunn and Rick Van Nuys
2005Anna Binkley and Anna Hartle
2004Kelly Hammond and Dan Wood
2003Joan Chezem and David Walsh
2002Beth Langenbahn and Carole Lichty-Smith
2001Wesley Hogan and Ully Marin
2000Jean Corbus and Andrea Rogers
1999Valerie Gerber and Jack Myslik
1998Brock Miller and Andy Speno
1997Tina Mangan and Bob Patterson
1996Nancy Fogelson and Theresa Hirschauer
1995Brenda Craig and Nancy Krody
1994Merle Black and Janet Chahrour
1993Tim Dunn and Lois Rust
1992Susie Lewis and Bobbie Menter
1991Libby Benton
1990Sam Tumolo
1989Peggy Richardson