CCDS National Merit Semifinalists named Finalists
CCDS National Merit Semifinalists named Finalists

All six Cincinnati Country Day School seniors have been named Finalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. They are: Neil Badlani, Will Beyreis, Eashwar Kantemneni, Anushka Nair, Sylvia Nica and Renee Twyford. Kantemneni has also received a corporate-sponsored scholarship.

Approximately 16,000 Semifinalists were named in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors had an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that are being offered this spring.

Over 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. Over 90% of the Semifinalists were expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by the NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 400 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC's goals of honoring the nation's scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

Country Day delivers a balanced, whole child experience that fosters students; academic and personal growth - because the person they become is as important as the knowledge they gain.

National Merit Finalists, from left, Sylvia Nica, Eashwar Kantemneni, Neil Badlani, Will Beyreis, Renee Twyford and Anushka Nair.